For the first time, the Fine Art programmes at West Dean College of Arts & Conservation present their annual Summer Show exhibition online.

The Covid-19 outbreak presented numerous challenges for the students midway through their Graduate Diploma and MFA programmes, yet the necessity of hosting the Summer Show 2020 online has been met with admirable perseverance and creativity. Each artist has risen to the challenge of remote working in their own way, finding inventive ways of adapting and extending studio practice, whilst maintaining and celebrating the closeness of our studio community even at a distance. 

This website showcases work of these artists in a diverse range of media – drawing, painting, printmaking, sculpture, textiles, photography, video – as well as projects made directly in response to the worldwide lockdown. The site also includes substantial documentation of research, images of work-in-progress, and selected writing.

In addition to this website showcase of their work, the Fine Art students will be hosting a physical exhibition at London’s Copeland Gallery in January 2021, which will be accompanied by a limited-edition publication.

This website will remain online until the London exhibition closes.

Please do get in touch with comments.

With grateful thanks to the following for their support during this academic year, and their contrubutions to this website, the forthcoming publication and exhibition: 

Fine Art staff
George Charman, Sarah Hughes, Poppy Jones, Rebecca Partridge, Philip Sanderson, Dr. Jon Shaw, Dr. David Stent.

Technical Demonstrators
Paul Burt, Gary Butcher, Neil Finch, Adrian Johnson, Steve Johnson.

Renée So, Robert Phillips, Stuart Whipps, Alec Stevens.

External Examiner
Dr. Fiona Curran.

The Edward James Foundation, De La Warr Pavilion, Candida Stevens Gallery, The National Trust at Cherryburn, Bethan Lloyd Worthington, Claire Ratinon, Mick Jackson, Mark Radcliffe, Alison Sandeman, Rosie Cooper, Professor Gavin Butt, Professor Jeremy Aynsley, Francine Norris, Sarah Kate Wilson, Lauren Godfrey, Isobel Smith, John Blakeley, Caroline de Lannoy, Paula Haughney, Professor Mark Roberts, Beverly Ayling-Smith, Jasper Richmond, Glynn Downing, Adam Cobden, Georjie Adams.
West Dean College
West Dean, Chichester, West Sussex
United Kingdom  PO18 0QZ